Assembly of Fellows

Members of Assembly of Fellows

Chairperson Professor WONG Suk-Ying
Members Professor AU Kwok Keung Thomas
  Professor CHAN Andrew
  Professor CHAN Wai-Yee
  Professor CHAIR Sek Ying
  Professor CHEUNG Chi Kwan Vincent
  Professor HALL Stephen
  Professor HANSEN EDWARDS Jette
  Professor HSU Ning Vernon
  Professor TAI Pui Kuen Amos
  Professor TEOH Jeremy Yuen-Chun
Secretary Ms KOO Margaret

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference
The Terms of Reference (ToR) are drawn from relevant clauses in the Statutes (S) of the University and the Constitution (C) of the College, to which reference is made in square brackets. In some cases the wording is slightly modified to suit the context. The ToR may be amended from time to time by the Committee of Overseers. Further elaborations of the Terms of Reference are contained in the Standing Orders, which are within the powers of the Assembly of Fellows itself.

  1. Definitions
    In these Terms of Reference, unless the context otherwise requires: ‘Academic staff of the University’ means the persons referred to in Statute 19 of the Statutes;
    ‘Assembly of Fellows’ means the Assembly of Fellows of the College formed under Statute 16 paragraph 2B of the Statutes; ‘College’ means CW Chu College, declared to be a constituent college of the University under section 3 of The Chinese University of Hong Kong
    (Declaration of C. W. Chu College, Wu Yee Sun College and Lee Woo Sing College as Constituent Colleges) Ordinance (Cap 1180); ‘Committee of Overseers’ means the persons appointed under Clause 4 of the Constitution of the College; ‘Fellows of the College’ means the initial Fellows and Fellows elected under Statute 16 paragraph 4 of the Statutes;‘Initial Fellows’ means the Fellows of the College appointed under Statute 16 paragraph 1 of the Statutes;‘Ordinance’ means The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance (Cap 1109);‘Statutes’ means the Statutes of the University contained in Schedule 1 of the Ordinance as the same may from time to time be amended or replaced under section 13(1) of the Ordinance; and‘University’ means The Chinese University of Hong Kong continued under section 4 of the Ordinance.
  2. Formation and Membership
    All the Fellows of the College shall collectively constitute the Assembly of Fellows of the College. [C14]
  3. Election of Fellows
    The Assembly of Fellows may elect additional Fellows of the College. Such additional Fellows may be elected only from among the academic staff of the University who have been assigned to the College. [S16.4, 16.6, C13]
  4. Duties
    4. The Assembly of Fellows shall be responsible for
    (a) arranging the tutorial instruction, pastoral counselling and student-orientated teaching of the students assigned to the College;
    (b) the supervision of residential accommodation for certain students at the College; and
    (c) the maintenance of discipline within the College [S16-6A]
  5. The Assembly of Fellows may make and from time to time amend Standing Orders for the proper conduct of its business. [S16.7]
  6. The Assembly of Fellows shall undertake any other duties as may be requested by the Master of the College, and through him/her, by the Committee of Overseers or the Vice-Chancellor of the University.

College Office
G/F, CW Chu College
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong SAR

Tel:(852) 3943 1801

Fax:(852) 3943 1802